Hello!

If you would like to participate in discussions, please sign in or register.

In this Discussion

Most Popular This Week

Due to changing needs and technologies, the SMT Executive Board has decided to retire SMT Discuss (effective Nov. 9, 2021). Posts will be preserved for archival purposes, but new posts and replies are no longer permitted.

History of extended tertian chords in jazz

Dear theorists,

I am trying to figure out when and if possible how extended tertian sonorities (especially "eleventh" and "thirteenth" chords) became standard ingredients in jazz harmony without doing an extensive corpus study. (I love jazz, but I am not a jazz musician and know very little about early jazz in particular.) My question is relevant for a paper I am working on about Schoenberg's Von Heute auf Morgen (so it's not directly jazz related). 

If any of you have ideas about this or suggestions of articles/books that might be helpful to me I would very much appreciate it. The standard jazz history books I am familiar with treat jazz harmony and theory only in a cursory fashion.

Thanks so much!

Aaron Sunstein

Ph.d/DM student

Indiana University 

Sign In or Register to comment.

Comments

• 4 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
    • Interesting question, Aaron.  I'm curious though why you are looking into jazz for this paper.  As a jazz theorist I certainly encourage you to explore the subject, but extended tertian chords of all types were common in Western classical music by the time this opera was written (Ravel, Scriabin, Rachmaninoff, etc.), and also may be found in the common-practice period.

Rich Pellegrin                                                                                                                                             

University of Missouri

•